Workshop on Many-body Dynamics and Open Quantum Systems

30/08 — 02/09/2016

Conference Booklet of DOQS2016

The Conference Booklet contains detailed information on the conference programme, venues, posters and talks.
Download the Conference Booklet

Invited Speakers

  • Mari-Carmen Bañuls (MPQ Garching)
  • Immanuel Bloch (MPQ Garching)
  • Frederic Chevy (ENS Paris)
  • Ignacio Cirac (MPQ Garching)
  • Nigel Cooper (University of Cambridge)
  • Eugene Demler (Harvard University)
  • Thierry Giamarchi (University of Geneva)
  • Klemens Hammerer (University of Hanover)
  • Dieter Jaksch (University of Oxford)
  • Igor Lesanovsky (University of Nottingham)
  • Mikhail Lukin (Harvard University)
  • Patrik Öhberg (Heriot-Watt University)
  • William Phillips (NIST / JQI Maryland)
  • Cindy Regal (JILA)
  • Mark Saffman (University of Wisconsin)
  • Luis Santos (University of Hanover)
  • Monika Schleier-Smith (Stanford University)

This workshop will bring together world-leading theorists and experimentalists from the fields of quantum optics and quantum many-body systems, working with cold atomic and molecular gases, optical lattices, cavities, cold ions, Rydberg atoms and polar molecules. A focus of the workshop is the understanding of interactions between a quantum system and its environment, and how these open quantum system dynamics combine with the behaviour of many-body AMO systems.

Hot Topics Speakers

  • Thorsten Ackemann (University of Strathclyde)
  • Piotr Deuar (Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • Jonathan Keeling (University of St Andrews)
  • Zala Lenarčič (University of Cologne)
  • Anton Mazurenko (Harvard University)
  • Matthias Sonnleitner (University of Glasgow)

Conference co-chairs

  • Stefan Kuhr – University of Strathclyde, UK
  • Andrew Daley – University of Strathclyde, UK

Advisory committee

  • Patrik Öhberg – Heriot-Watt University, UK
  • Ignacio Cirac – MPQ Garching, Germany
  • Immanuel Bloch – MPQ Garching, Germany
  • Mari-Carmen Bañuls – MPQ Garching, Germany
  • Klemens Hammerer – University of Hanover, Germany

Organising committee

Associated research groups at the University of Strathclyde:
Experimental Quantum Optics and Photonics
Computational Nonlinear & Quantum Optics